## 2021 Call for Submissions for Three ASPHS Article Prizes

1) the A.H. de Oliveira Marques Prize in Portuguese History. The prize was created by means of a generous endowment from Dr. Harold B. Johnson, of the University of Virginia, in memory of the distinguished Portuguese historian, A. H. de Oliveira Marques (1933-2007). The prize is awarded each year for the best peer-reviewed article or book chapter on Portuguese history published during the previous year. The Association for Spanish and Portuguese Historical Studies solicits submissions for this year's prize. Submitted articles or book chapters may be written in Portuguese, English, Castilian, Catalan, Italian, or French, but only articles on Portuguese history published within the 2020 calendar year will be considered.

Authors should submit one copy of the article and a short (two-page) CV in PDF form to the chair of the prize committee, Darlene Abreu-Ferreira (<u>d.abreu@uwinnipeg.ca</u>), by 31 December 2020.

2) The **Charles Julian Bishko Memorial Prize** for the best article published in 2020 in the field of medieval Iberian history by a North American scholar.

Articles may be written in Castilian, English, Catalan, Galician, Portuguese or French. Authors must be current members of the ASPHS.

Authors should submit one copy of the article and a short (two-page) CV in PDF form to committee chair Andrew Devereux (adevereux@ucsd.edu) by December 31, 2020.

## 3) Best Early Career Article in any aspect of Iberian History

To be eligible, submissions must meet the following criteria:

- articles or book chapters in a peer-reviewed publication
- with a focus on Iberian history
- published between 1 January 2018 and 31 December 2020
- in any of the three languages of the society (English, Portuguese, and Spanish)
- authored by a graduate student or Ph.D. who has received the degree in the past five years.

Authors may submit only one work per grant cycle. The deadline for submissions is 31 December, 2020. Early submissions are encouraged. Submissions should be sent to committee chair Enrique Sanabria at <a href="mailto:sanabria@unm.edu">sanabria@unm.edu</a>.